What to Put On a Wedding Registry

For a college kid who almost has it all (things handed down, bought or collected) figuring out what exactly you need after college can be hard. This was brought to my attention the other day when I was using my fiancé’s trusty vacuum cleaner. At least, it had been trusty up until the point when it decided that it didn’t want to do its job. I realized at that moment, the first thing I wanted to put down on my wedding registry was a nice vacuum cleaner. Although this may sound lame, I just can’t stand a half-done job when it comes to cleaning. I decided to compile a list of things that would be nice for my wedding registry. But keep in mind that even if you are not getting married this list can give ideas as to what may be helpful to you once you’re out of college and into your own place.

A list of useful things to ask for a wedding registry/or to get after college

  1. A vacuum cleaner is a must-have. I personally would look at the highest rated ones, but with an affordable price tag. There are so many options out there today that it can get a little overwhelming. Swifter vacuums are awesome if you have hardwood floors, I already have one of these but I definitely recommend it. Also great if you have pets and hardwood floors.
  2. A Kitchen Aid mixer might be something that you want to add to a list. Although this may seem more a luxury item, it is very useful. If you’re a guy and don’t think you’ll do much baking or home cooking this may not be on your list. But for those who do, this is a handy item.
  3. Nice dining wear that is great for all occasions is a perfect gift to ask for. It’s always nice to have a set rather than mix-matched. This can also include nice glasses plus wine glasses. Silverware can fall under this category as well.
  4. After college or collaborating with your fiancé you may notice that there are more pots than lids. Cookware is always a huge thing on any wedding registry list and important to any household. It’s nice to start off with a new set and decide what you need or don’t need anymore.

This article has some other items that are popular for wedding registries. They seem to touch on all of the basics!

The break down

One article that I read about making a wedding registry list was really helpful because it had great tips on how to decide what to put on the list. It broke down into “what you have”, “what you need” and “what you want.” Although this seems simple, it can be easy to be consumed with the desire to want all the nice gadgets in Target or Williams-Sonoma. You definitely don’t want people to buy you things that will never be used.

To add to this idea of overcoming want, I must give a piece of advice from my mom. We have a shallow, small, pretty crystal bowl sitting on an end-table in my family room. Even though I have looked at it for years it wasn’t until recently that I asked my mom where it came from. It was on her wedding registry list, but the best part is that it is actually an ash tray. No one in my family smokes, yet my mom asked for all the pieces of the crystal set including the ash tray. The moral of this story is if you don’t need it; please don’t let someone spend money on something so pointless.

Leave a Reply

